2017 Primary Election Results: No Surprises, Low Turnout


Despite a contested gubernatorial race, about a quarter of registered Democrats and less than 20 percent of registered Republicans turned up at the polls. All results unofficial until certified by the county clerk.

By Matt Skoufalos | June 6, 2017

There were no surprises at the polls in Camden County for the 2017 primaries, and with no national races until next year’s Congressional midterm elections, few voters.

Despite a crowded field of hopefuls vying for the opportunity to succeed governor Chris Christie in November’s general election, locals didn’t show up in significant numbers.

With most precincts having reported Tuesday night, less than 15 percent of registered voters participated in the election: about 50,000 people. Mail-in ballots accounted for a little more than a quarter of all votes (13,971 of 50,443).

Gubernatorial Race

Phil Murphy of Middletown Township, a retired Goldman-Sachs executive and former U.S. ambassador to Germany, will face off against Monmouth Beach resident Kim Guadagno, Chris Christie’s lieutenant governor and a former New Jersey assistant attorney general.

Live, real-time results courtesy of our partners at NJ Spotlight.

State Senate Races

In the Sixth Legislative District, incumbent Jim Beach (D) will face Robert Shapiro (R) in the fall general election, while in the Fifth Legislative District, incumbent Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D) will defend her seat against challenger Keith A. Walker (R), who has lost out in the race for that seat in 2011 and in 2013.

State Assembly Races

In the Sixth Legislative District, incumbents Pamela Lampitt and Louis Greenwald fended off a challenge from newcomer Fredrick Dande, and will square off against Republicans Winston Extavour and David C. Moy, who ran unopposed for their party’s nominations, in November.

In the Fifth Legislative District, incumbent Democrats Patricia Egan Jones and Arthur Barclay will face Republicans Kevin Ehret and Teresa Gordon in the November general elections; all four ran uncontested.

Camden County Freeholder Race

After thumping a handful of challengers, Incumbent Democrats Lou Cappelli and Jonathan Young will meet Republican hopefuls Keith Cybulski and Nicole Nance, who ran unopposed, in the November general election.

For the Democratic challengers, Suzanne Shourds was the top vote-getter among a group of nominees that also included Debra Lonsdale, Robert Beare, Mary Ann Dunn, and Kathryn Petner.

Local Races

In Cherry Hill, incumbent Democratic council members David Fleisher, Carole Roskoph, Sangeeta Doshi, and Carolyn Jacobs fended off challenges from Joshua Hare, Patricia Magnus, Scott Soffen, and Mark Gulbranson, all of whom ran under the slogan, “Progressive Democrats for Cherry Hill.”

Magnus was the leading vote-getter among the group, who failed to unseat the incumbents. Fleisher, Roskoph, Doshi, and Jacobs will face Republicans Andrew Behrend, John Papeika, Scott Cohen, and Joseph Rodi, Jr., all of whom ran unopposed, in the general election.

Haddon Heights Democrats Stephanie Madden and Christopher Mrozinski will face incumbent Republican Council President Kathy Lange and retired Haddon Heights Police Chief Richard Kinkler in the general election. None of the candidates faced opposition on their ballots.

Furthermore, in a statement issued today, Republican Councilman Rick DiRenzo, who did not appear on the ballot, announced that he would not seek office as an independent—but promised to play a watchdog role in local politics.

“Public service is a calling, and I have been honored to answer that call both as a police officer and council person,” DiRenzo said. “I intend to keep my Heights In Perspective site active, and will incorporate the use of videos in reporting the actions of our elected and appointed officials of the Borough. I also intend to be active on the opposite side of the table and continue to ask the tough questions needed of our borough officials.”

Incumbent Merchantville Democratic Council President Andrew McLoone and council member Katherine Swann face no opposition on the ballot; neither did any Republican candidate file a petition for the two available borough council seats.

Incumbent Oaklyn council members Dot Valianti and Chuck Lehman ran uncontested in the primaries, and will not face any Republican challengers on the local ballot this fall.

Incumbent Pennsauken Mayor Betsy McBride and fellow council member Jack Killion will face Republican challengers Vincent Squire and Nhuan Van in the general election; all four ran unopposed in the primaries.

Get more local news that matters. Check out NJ Pen on Facebook and Twitter, or click here to become a supporter.


Comments are closed.