UPDATE: Camden County 2024 Primary Election Results: Unofficial Early Returns


With 429 of 432 precincts in, roughly 99 percent of the votes have been counted.

By Matt Skoufalos | June 4, 2024

(UPDATE: June 10, 2024 – 3:15 p.m.)

With about 99 percent of precincts reported (429 of 432), the unofficial early returns from the 2024 Camden County Primary Elections yield a rough picture of how the ballots for the November general election likely will look.

Of 381,605 registered voters in Camden County — 134,182, or 35 percent of which are nonpartisan voters, and thereby excluded from participating in New Jersey’s closed primaries —  48,398 Democrats and 15,027 Republicans had cast a total of 63,425 ballots for a reported 16.62 percent voter turnout rate.

All results are considered unofficial and incomplete until certified by the Camden County Clerk. These totals will change before their final certification.

U.S. Presidential Race

On the Democratic ticket, incumbent U.S. President Joe Biden (40,760 votes) is the presumptive nominee over Terrisa Bukovinac (686 votes).

An option to vote “Uncommitted” on the office from the Democratic Socialists of America — which ran no candidate, only the slogan “Justice for Palestine, Permanent Ceasefire Now.” — gathered 2,590 votes. The New Jersey Monitor has more.

Republican Donald Trump (13,048 votes) faced no balloted opposition within his own party in New Jersey.

U.S. Senate Race

On the Democratic ticket, U.S. Representative Andy Kim (33,016 votes) of Moorestown defeated Patricia Campos-Medina of Califon (9,988 votes), and Lawrence Hamm of Newark (2,616 votes) in the race for the U.S. Senate seat held since 2006 by Robert Menendez, who is currently on trial for federal corruption charges.

On the Republican ticket, Curtis Bashaw of Cape May (8,832 votes) outpaced a field that included Christine Serrano-Glassner (2,132 votes), Justin Murphy of Tabernacle (1,875 votes), and Albert Harshaw of Jackson (646 votes).

(On Monday, The New Jersey Globe reported that Menendez will seek to defend his seat as an independent, pending the outcome of his trial.)

U.S. Representative Race

Theodore “Teddy” Liddell of Gloucester Township (9,633 votes) has the Republican nomination for New Jersey’s First Congressional District sewn up over Claire Gustafson of Collingswood (2,097 votes) and union carpenter Damon Galdo of West Deptford (1,666 votes).

On the Democratic ticket, incumbent U.S. Congressman Donald Norcross (43,939 votes) faced no primary opposition.

Camden County Sheriff Race

On the Democratic ticket, former Camden County Sheriff Chuck Billingham (40,488 votes) will face Republican Sean Williams (12,846 votes) in the November general election. Neither man faced balloted opposition for the position.

Camden County Clerk Race

On the Democratic ticket, long-serving New Jersey Sixth District Assemblywoman Pamela Lampitt of Cherry Hill (26,692 votes) surpassed Rebecca Holloway of Clementon (17,533 votes).

On the Republican ticket, Jennifer Exler of Audubon (10,345 votes) beat Lisa Chambers of Waterford (2,848 votes).

Camden County Commissioners Race

Three seats are up for grabs on the Camden County Board of Commissioners.

Incumbents Jeff Nash of Winslow (30,805 votes), Melinda Kane of Cherry Hill (30,729 votes), and Al Dyer of Pennsauken (26,436 votes) fended off South Jersey Progressive Democrats Kyle Irwin of Collingswood (15,753 votes), Susan Druckenbrod of Cherry Hill (14,671 votes), and Elton Custis of Camden City (12,389 votes).

On the Camden County Regular Republican Party ticket candidates Danielle Barry (10,570 votes) of Haddonfield, Donald J. Smith (10,349 votes) of Lindenwold, and Norman C. Rebel, Jr. (10,108 votes) had enough to push past Jennifer Moore of Haddon Heights (3,035 votes), Ian Gill (2,586 votes), and Denise Gonzalez of Sicklerville (2,551 votes), all of whom ran under the slogan “Real Republicans.”

Local Races

In Audubon Park, Democrats Cathleen Lowe and Amy Paratore faced no balloted opposition from within their own party for two seats on the local government council. No Republican filed a petition seeking office.

In Cherry Hill, Democratic Councilwoman Jill Hulnick will defend her unexpired term against Republican challenger and Countrywide Home Care CEO Anna R. Adler in the general election.

Her fellow Democratic Councilman Daniel V. DiRenzo, Jr. squares off against Blackwood Animal Hospital manager Judi L. Giacoboni-Russo on the Republican ticket in November.

In Haddon Heights, incumbent Democratic Council President Christopher Morgan, an attorney, and incumbent Democratic Councilwoman Kathryn Russo, a civil engineer, met no balloted opposition. They’ll face Republican challengers Kevin Ehret and Denise Bolognese in the general election.

In Merchantville, incumbent Democratic council members Daniel Sperrazza and Eric P. Benjamin faced no balloted opposition from within their own party; neither has any Republican filed a petition seeking office.

In Oaklyn, incumbent Democratic council members Nancy MacGregor and David T. Wright are seeking re-election to office with no balloted opposition. No Republican filed a petition seeking any local office.

In Pennsauken, incumbent Democratic Committee members Marco DiBattista and Jessica Rafeh will seek re-election in the November general election. No Republican filed a petition seeking any local office.

Please support NJ Pen with a subscription. Get e-mails, and follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.


Comments are closed.