NJ Pen 2021 General Election Voter Guide


Your handy breakdown of the state, county, and local races for Tuesday’s general elections.

By Matt Skoufalos | November 2, 2021

On Election Day, New Jersey voters will choose their representatives for several key government positions, from local boards of education to the highest office in the state.

Photo by Parker Johnson on Unsplash – https://goo.gl/yFknSf.

What’s at Stake

In this election, New Jersey voters will elect their governor, state senators, and members of the state assembly.

Camden County voters will elect three County Commissioners as well as a County Sheriff.

Only a handful of communities in our coverage area—Cherry Hill, Haddon Heights, Merchantville, Oaklyn, and Pennsauken—have open positions on their local governing bodies, and only the races in Cherry Hill and Haddon Heights will feature contests among balloted opponents.

Finally, voters will decide which of their neighbors will represent their interests on local school boards.

New Jersey Gubernatorial Race

Medical publisher and accountant Jack Ciattarelli of Hillsborough emerged from a field of Republican challengers to face incumbent Democratic governor Phil Murphy, who faced no primary opponent, for the governorship of New Jersey.

Murphy also defends his incumbency against Green Party candidate Madelyn Hoffman, Socialist Workers Party candidate Joanne Kuniansky, and Libertarian candidate Gregg Mele.

New Jersey State Senate Race

Voters in New Jersey’s Sixth Legislative District (including those in Cherry Hill, Collingswood, Haddonfield, Haddon Township, Merchantville, Oaklyn, and Pennsauken) will choose from among Democratic incumbent Jim Beach and Republican challenger (and former Haddon Township Commissioner) John Foley.

In the Fifth Legislative District (which includes Audubon, Camden City, and Haddon Heights), Democratic incumbent Nilsa Cruz-Perez faces off against Republican challenger Clyde Cook, a pastor from Woodlynne.

New Jersey State Assembly Race

In New Jersey’s Fifth Legislative District, incumbent Democratic Assemblymen Bill Moen and Bill Spearman will face Republican challengers Sean Sepsey and Samuel DiMatteo.

In New Jersey’s Sixth Legislative District, incumbent Democratic Assemblyman Louis Greenwald and Assemblywoman Pamela Lampitt will meet Republican challengers Ed Farmer and Richard Super.

Camden County Sheriff Race

Incumbent Camden County Sheriff Gilbert “Whip” Wilson faces no balloted opposition.

Camden County Commissioners Race

Three seats are up for grabs on the Camden County Board of Commissioners this fall.

Incumbent Democrats Jeffrey Nash, Melinda Kane, and Almar Dyer square off against Republicans Johanna Scheets, Jennifer Moore, and Rachel Boberg.

Contested Local Government Races

In Audubon Park, Democratic challengers Cathleen Lowe and Amy Paratore face Independent Kirsten Stokes for two seats on the local government council; no Republican appears on the ballot.

In Cherry Hill, incumbent Democratic Council members David Fleisher, Carole Roskoph, Sangeeta Doshi, and William A. Carter, III will face Republican challengers Nicole Nance, David Lodge, Rossanna Parsons, and Diane C Carr for four available seats on the township government. (Hear from the candidates here.)

In Haddon Heights, incumbent Democratic Council member Christopher Morgan and newcomer Kathryn Russo will battle Republican hopefuls Kimberley Stuart and Kevin Ehret for two seats on the governing body. (Hear from the candidates here.)

In Merchantville, incumbent Democratic Councilman Daniel J. Sperrazza and challenger Cindy Morales-Butts face Independent Adam Wallace; no Republican appears on the ballot.

In Oaklyn, incumbent Democratic Council members Christopher Walters and Nancy MacGregor face Republican Dominic Longo for two seats on the borough council.

Contested School Board Races

In Audubon, incumbents James Blumenstein and Allison Cox face no balloted opposition for their seats on the board. However, with a third, uncontested seat also available, residents Andrea Robinson and Kelly Tomeo have announced their write-in candidacies for the governing body. (Hear from the candidates here.)

In Cherry Hill, voters will choose from among seven balloted candidates for three seats on the township school board. They include challengers Carolina BevadJennifer FleisherNicholas J. Gaudio, Jr.John Papeika, Benjamin Rood, and Ilana Yares, as well as incumbent Sally Tong. (Hear from the candidates here.)

In Haddon Township, voters will choose from among four balloted candidates for three seats on the borough school board. Incumbents James Lex, David Ricci, and Allison Rodman face challenger Mark W. Henley, Jr. (Hear from the candidates here.)

In Oaklyn, voters will choose from among four balloted candidates for three seats on the borough school board. Incumbents Denise BuczkoRobert Fink, and Therese Marmion face challenger Amy Ezekiel. (Hear from the candidates here.)

In Pennsauken, voters will choose from among four balloted candidates for three seats on the township school board. Incumbents Scott LaVine, Samer J. Jarbouh-Rafeh, and Diane E. Johnson face challenger Nhuan Van.

Voter Information

Scroll down for links to your local sample ballot. Polling places are open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. statewide on Tuesday, November 1. After you vote, come back and check with NJ Pen for the results as they come in.


Sample Ballots


Audubon Sample Ballot

Audubon Park

Audubon Park Sample Ballot

Cherry Hill

Cherry Hill Sample Ballot


Collingswood Sample Ballot

Haddon Heights

Haddon Heights Sample Ballot


Haddonfield Sample Ballot

Haddon Township

Haddon Township Sample Ballot


Merchantville Sample Ballot


Oaklyn Sample Ballot


Pennsauken Sample Ballot

Please support NJ Pen with a subscription. Get e-mails, follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram, or try our Direct Dispatch text alerts.


Comments are closed.