NJ Pen 2015 Election Day Voter Pocket Guide


Your handy breakdown of the state, county, and local races for Election Day 2015.

By Matt Skoufalos

VotePolitically speaking, 2015 is an off-year for elections, lacking the weight of the 2014 U.S. Congressional midterm races or the anticipation of the 2016 presidential campaigns. No referendum questions appear on the ballot, as did in the year-ago campaigns, either.

However, in South Jersey, there are plenty of posts to be filled at the state, county, and municipal levels. With contested mayoral and council races in Cherry Hill and Haddon Heights and several contested school board races, voters have some choices ahead of them on Tuesday.

State Races

In New Jersey’s Sixth Legislative District (Cherry Hill, Collingswood, Haddonfield, Haddon Township, Oaklyn), Democratic incumbents Louis Greenwald and Pamela Lampitt seek to defend their seats in the state assembly from Republican challengers Holly Tate, a Stratford councilwoman, and Claire H. Gustafson. Green Party candidates James Bracciante and Amanda Davis round out the ballot.

In the Fifth Legislative District (Audubon, Audubon Park, Haddon Heights), New Jersey State Senator Nilsa Cruz-Perez (D) is unopposed in her bid to complete the unexpired term of predecessor Donald Norcross, who assumed Rob Andrews’ Congressional seat following the U.S. representative’s resignation in 2014.

Two fifth-district seats are open in the state assembly, however, and Republicans Kevin Ehret and Keith Walker are vying with Democrats Patricia Egan Jones and Arthur Barclay for those.

The New Jersey League of Women Voters invited candidates from both districts to respond to a handful of issue prompts; the limited replies they received are available here:

County Races

In her pursuit of the assembly seat, Egan Jones will not see re-election in her role as the Camden County Surrogate; Camden County Freeholder Michelle Gentek-Mayer (D) faces Joseph Rodi, Jr. (R) for that office.

Retired Camden City police lieutenant Lou Hannon (R) and New Jersey Assemblyman Gilbert “Whip” Wilson will square off for the job of county sheriff vacated by the retiring Charles Billingham.

Republican Theodore “Teddy” Liddell will challenge incumbent Camden County Freeholder Jonathan L. Young, Sr. for his unexpired term; Young, a carpenter’s union official, had replaced Freeholder Scot McCray, who stepped down from his post in December 2014.

Three other open seats on the county freeholder board are also up for grabs, and Republican hopefuls Winston Extavour, Ian Gill, and Rob Stone will take on their Democratic counterparts: incumbent freeholder Jeffrey Nash, Cherry Hill councilwoman Susan Shin Angulo and 28-year-old William F. Moen, Jr., the youngest candidate on the slate.

Town by Town Voter Guide

Scroll down below for links to your local sample ballot and a list of polling places, open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. statewide.


Among the other races, Audubon residents will choose three Board of Education members. On the ballot are incumbents Allison Cox, Gina Osinski, and Tara Sullivan-Butrica; they face challengers James Blumenstein, Pamela Chiaradia, and William Liebeknecht. Joseph L. Ryan, Jr. is running uncontested for an unexpired term.

Cherry Hill

Incumbent Cherry Hill Mayor Chuck Cahn (D) faces challenger Philip Guerrieri, Sr. (R), while incumbent Democrats Brian Bauerle, Melinda Kane, and Sarah Lipsett will try to defend their seats on township council against Republicans Stephen Cohen, Nancy O’Dowd, and Rick Short.

Cherry Hill residents also will choose three Board of Education members. On the ballot are incumbents Barry Dickinson and Kathryn Bay Judge; they face challengers Frederick Dande and Ken Tomlinson, Jr. Jane Scarpellino is running uncontested for an unexpired term.


Among the other races, Collingswood residents will choose three Board of Education members. Incumbents James Hatzell, Kathleen McCarthy, and Terry Moody face challenges from Regan Kaiden and Nancy DiBattista.

Haddon Heights

Voters in Haddon Heights will elect a new mayor Tuesday, as incumbent Republican Ed Forte was not returned to the ticket by members of his party. Instead, incumbent council member Jack D. Merryfield, Jr. (R) will face off against Democratic challenger David A. Capozzi for the post.

The partisan Haddon Heights council also has two seats up for grabs: Republican hopefuls Vincent M. Ceroli and Jacquelyn Valvardi will vie with incumbent Democrat Stephen D. Berryhill and challenger Arykah Trabosh for those.

The Haddon Heights Board of Education race, which last year was a crowded affair, is uncontested in 2015. Tina Gentile, Trish Sheilds, and Kimberly Stuart are running unopposed.


Among the other races, Haddonfield residents will choose three Board of Education members. Incumbent Susan Kutner faces challengers Joshua Drew, Joseph Evangelisti, Glenn R. George, and Adam Sangillo.

Haddon Township

Among the other races, Haddon Township residents will choose three Board of Education members. Incumbents Robert D. Brown, Marie Dezii, and James R. Lex, Jr. face challengers Renee Billingsley and Allison Rodman. Craig Roncace is running uncontested for an unexpired term.


Among the other races, Oaklyn residents will vote for their mayor and two council members; incumbent Robert Forbes is running uncontested, as are returning councilmen Gregory Brandley and Michael Enos.

Residents will also choose three Board of Education members. The only candidate to appear on the ballot is Matthew H. Hale.

Photo credit: American flag – George Larcher: https://goo.gl/zAX8JN.

Get more local news that matters. Check out NJ Pen on Facebook and Twitter, [tinypass_offer text=”or click here to become a supporter.”]


Comments are closed.